So after having a breakfast and lunch date with Anthony Bourdain, three days later I found myself WOK-ing with yet another culinary personality, this time Bobby Chinn of the show World Cafe Asia who was doing a show on Manila.

Two celebrity chefs in a span of three days with personalities that could not be any more similar.

Now if Bourdain struck me as a scholarly cook, someone whom you could spend hours and hours talking (and learning) about food culture,ย  Bobby was more of performer, with a lot ofย  antics and kookiness ….

bobby-chinn

midway throughout our shoot, I suddenly find him in a store making a head-banging, rocker scene (complete with protruding false-teeth get up) .ย  Of course he rocked the place and had heads turning onto his antics…

bobby-chinn-4

Here in a Binondo alley market checking out some of the local specialties…I heard he also went to the Salcedo Market in Makati and to Quiapo where he had, among others, day-old-chicks.

Not really the type of food I would highlight to the international viewing public but well, its the producer’s who calls the shot.

bobby-chinn-3

Our little ‘padyak’ scene, I originally pushed for a Kalesa which, in my opinion is more of a Manila icon (not mention, more charming) than this utilitarian padyak but then again, the director wanted otherwise…Oh well.

Just another day of walk.

bobby-chinn-2

Thanks to Anson Yu, my official tour alternate for tagging along to take these photos.

